Friday, August 29, 2014

Introducing New Teachers!

Each school year districts welcome new teaching staff members aboard.  This year is no different than any other year for the Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton School District as we welcome seven new teachers on staff.

Stephanie Mattson will be teaching third grade for us this school year.  She was hired in the early spring to replace Liz Winters who accepted the Title I Position.  Stephanie comes to us from Lake City where she spent five years teaching 5th grade.

Layce Johnson is one of two new special education teachers for our district.  She is a recent graduate of Northwestern College in Orange City, IA.  Layce is originally from the state of California but seems to appreciate and enjoy the midwest!

Christine Manteufel is the second of two new special education teachers hired in our district this year.  She holds several special education licenses.  Christine lives in St. Peter, MN and spent time substituting in a variety of school districts.

Amy Friedrichs was hired this year to replace Lynn Gostomczik as a 7-12 Language Arts instructor.  Amy is originally from the metro area and seems to be adjusting well to rural MN.  She attended Minnesota State University, Mankato and has worked as a long-term substitute.

Nicole Olsen is also a recent graduate of Minnesota State University, Mankato.  Nicole replaced Darcy Reed as our new high school counselor.  She is off to a running start trying to get a grasp on all the workings of the high school counselor along with District Assessment Coordinator responsibilities.

Penny Hage joins us from the Faribault Public School District as our new Media Center Specialist.  Penny has great knowledge of media and technology.  She is excited to begin transitioning our media center to a 21st century facility.

Aimee Miller is a familiar face to many of you as she lives in Janesville and spent last school year in our preschool classroom.  Aimee is excited to be our new 4th grade teacher.  She replaces Sandy Wiste who accepted a position in the Mankato Area Public School District.

We are very fortunate and excited to welcome these new members to our team!  Please congratulate and welcome them when you see them.

No comments:

Post a Comment